Mobile Security in UK does not work - quite a surprise; Cloud Scan also not working;

  • 1
  • Problem
  • Updated 5 months ago
  • In Progress
Not happy to have purchased Trend Micro Maximum Security on basis that it will work on 5 devices including Android, to find that the Mobile App won't work in the UK - why isn't this made clear ahead of purchase? Also my One Drive Cloud Scan is not working - another disappointment. Not a great start!
Photo of Giacomo

Giacomo

  • 82 Points 75 badge 2x thumb
  • very, very disappointed

Posted 5 months ago

  • 1
Photo of TM_Shella

TM_Shella, Employee

  • 2,070 Points 2k badge 2x thumb
Hi Giacomo and welcome to the community!

Can you give us more details as to how you arenot able to use the mobile application and your One Drive Cloud Scan?  If you encountered any error messages, pleaseattach a photo of it to this thread so we could check it as well.

Also, just to let you know, Trend Micro MobileSecurity for Android is supported and can be downloaded in United Kingdom,given that the device meets the minimum or required system requirements.

If the program is not yet installed on your device,you may refer to the link below on how to load it.

Installing Mobile Security for Android

Hope this helps.

Regards,



Trend MicroHomeUsers Community 
Photo of Giacomo

Giacomo

  • 82 Points 75 badge 2x thumb
Thank-you, it works well and have been able to install; when it didn't work before, this was by sending the link to my device from within Maximum Security. However, having now partly installed Mobile Security & Antivirus, the explanations on why the various permissions are needed, are not sufficient; for example, access to contact data in messages and e-mails, what is done with this? Does it go back to Trend Servers? Similarly, the other permissions required are not well explained and I would like to know more about this before deciding whether to retain or uninstall, and similarly whether to also install Mobile Security on a tablet. For that reason, having read more about it, I am not going to use the Cloud Scan service, as really don't want my data being exported to Trend servers; that does not seem to be good security on any level.
Photo of TM_Kiko

TM_Kiko, Employee

  • 8,892 Points 5k badge 2x thumb
Hello Giacomo! Thanks for letting us know that you were able to install the Application now.

For the permissions with regard to the contacts that you have on your device, they are not being uploaded to the servers. They are just being checked for legitimacy, specially for emails (if such domains that your contacts were using is compromised). Rest assured that your privacy is not compromised with our application and it is safe to use.