How do I restore vault data after an upgrade installation? I found the location of the encrypted files. They were not migrated.

  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 3 months ago
  • Answered
There used to be a way to recover files back into vault.
They were backed up at the new install but they were not imported.
The new vault is empty.
How is there no foolproof migration yet?
Why is there no warning that there isn't? Install should be halted and user prompted to deal with the problem.
Why are they not at least decrypted and pushed back out if nothing else? (Even though that is a non-secure option)
Photo of dmbleess

dmbleess

  • 80 Points 75 badge 2x thumb
  • annoyed

Posted 2 years ago

  • 1
Photo of TM_L

TM_L, Official Rep

  • 15,740 Points 10k badge 2x thumb
Hi @dmbleess,I completely understand your concern.

Don't worry, you can follow the simple steps below to recover your files:
  1. Open the main console of your Maximum Security.
  2. Click Tools.
  3. Click the Trend Micro Vault icon.
  4. Click Yes when you receive the following message: "Would you like to move files currently stored in an older version of the Trend Micro Vault to the new one?"

  5. Type the following in the fields provided, then click OK:
    - The password from the previous version of your Trend Micro Vault.
    - The password of the new version of your Trend Micro Vault.

  6. Your Trend Micro Vault will set up, and all the files in your Vault will be enabled.

Please let us know if the above procedures work for you. Thank you!

Trend Micro Home Users Community
Photo of dmbleess

dmbleess

  • 80 Points 75 badge 2x thumb
That option wasn't there because I didn't use the same user that I did
the original install on.  I had to uninstall, move over to the other user on the computer, move the backup files into the newly created blank vault and then reinstall again.  Then it found the files and imported everything back in.

The install doesn't take into account multiple user installations in terms of vault.
If it can't handle that, it needs to warn users at install that they must use the account that has control of the vault.

How is it that I know more about this than Trend does?
How many customers have lost data because of this?
Photo of TM_L

TM_L, Official Rep

  • 15,740 Points 10k badge 2x thumb
Hi @dmbleess, sorry for the inconvenience caused.

We are sorry to inform you that Trend Micro Security doesn’t support multiple Windows user account currently. Only the first Windows user account which installed Trend Micro Security can use Trend Micro Vault Feature. 

Also, as you mentioned, when you do an auto-upgrade instead of uninstall + reinstall procedure to upgrade your Trend Micro Security, there won't appear a warning message. So we suggest you backup your files before upgrading to the latest version of your Trend Micro Vault to in case the data disappeared after upgrading. 

Thank your for the  "warning message" suggestion, we will definitely pass this to our Product Development Team to prioritize for future releases. Again, our sincere apologies for this poor product experience. 

Trend Micro Home Users Community
Photo of Fsteil13

Fsteil13

  • 60 Points
your last update Wiped out my computer..I had to reload windows and I lost 75%
Photo of Tom Emmelot

Tom Emmelot, Champion

  • 24,358 Points 20k badge 2x thumb
Hi Fsteil13

Welcome to TM Home users Community, a public site where volunteers try to help each-other , also there are TM Employees that can give answers, that is only at working hours. I am just a volunteer! 
But you have a unbelievable story, that i cant imagine!I use TM now since Win98 and i am a beta tester since than, i never see that !Do you have a idea how that TM did this to your PC?Explain us what happened.Kind regards, 
Tom
(Edited)
Photo of TM_X

TM_X, Official Rep

  • 6,346 Points 5k badge 2x thumb
Hi Fsteil13

I'm sorry to hear of your experience but the Trend Micro program and its updates do not delete files unless they are malicious. And if so, you may see them on security report. Can you please follow the instructions below to check your security report and what has been deleted? A screenshot would be appreciated. 
  1. Open the Trend Micro main console 
  2. Click the Security Report icon (pie chart, next to gear icon)
  3. Click See more details
Also, reformatting your computer deletes your files. Make sure this isn't the case. 
Photo of TM_Pat

TM_Pat, Official Rep

  • 9,316 Points 5k badge 2x thumb
We'll close this thread now. Please create a new topic here: https://en.community.trendmicro.com/tm_en/topics/new

This conversation is no longer open for comments or replies.