High CPU and Disk activity by Trend Micro Anti-Malware Solution Platform

• Problem
  • Updated 2 months ago
  • Acknowledged
Hi,
Well, the title describes my problem: High CPU and Disk activity by Trend Micro Anti-Malware Solution Platform
Half the world has this problem as it seems when i'm searching on the internet. I've tried all given advice, checked for conflicting software, uninstalled and re-installed Trend Micro. Turned off Microsoft OneDrive. 
I would like to know how to properly diagnose this problem. I'm tired of "trying" things to fix it. I'm a software engineer by proffesion and know a thing or two about computers.
This is my last shot for fixing this problem. If not, i will cancel my subscrition. Unfortunately i just payed for another year... 
Hope someone can help me with diagnosing instead of given advice "trying" stuff. (because i did it all :))
With regards,
Pascal Loonen
Photo of ploonen

ploonen

• 290 Points 250 badge 2x thumb

Posted 9 months ago

Photo of Tom Emmelot

Tom Emmelot, Champion

• 24,476 Points 20k badge 2x thumb
Hi chris.lebrese

Welcome to TM Home users Community, a public site where volunteers try to help each-other , also there are TM Employees that can give answers, that is only at working hours. I am just a volunteer!
Can you stop the other proces:
qemu-system-i386.exeLook here:
https://www.file.net/process/qemu-system-i386.exe.html
and see of the TM process goes to a normal hight of:
Here from you,
Kind regards,Tom
(Edited)
Photo of Chris

Chris

• 202 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
Hi Tom,

Thanks, I know what qemu is. It's an Android emulator I'm running alongside Android Studio.

TM eventually settles down to ~ 5% on quitting the emulator but then any CPU intensive process seems to bring it back up to the 30% mark. There's very little disk access an no network access so I can't see why it needs to suck up so many CPU cycles.

This is really crippling my system. 

Cheers,  Chris
Photo of Tom Emmelot

Tom Emmelot, Champion