In the past I complained about TM modifying certain items , upon a detection.
Among items modified , upon a detection, were:
-UAC reset to default
-files and folders visibility set to "visible" from "invisible"
-win update set to "install updates automatically" from whatever setting I had before
-IE home page set to blank
Is this still happening with the latest TM version?
The Trend Micro program will not change the default configuration and settings of your computer.
The only possible way for it to be changed is through the PC Health Checkup. If you will apply the improvements recommended after the scan, then that's the only time your settings will be changed. But, again, it is user triggered and not automatically applied.
I hope this helps.
Have a wonderful day!
TrendMicro Home Users Community
I experienced the changes "first hand" , with version 11. This is the answer provided by erza, Official Rep :
The list changes depends on the behavior of the virus. But the basic would be:
- IE Home Page - will be set to blank
- Screensaver - will be disabled
- Wallpaper - will be removed
Can you please enquire to one of the developers if this still happens with v12?
Thank you again erza for your answers!
What about this:
Even an item has been restored already, it still appear as "removed" and you can click on it and "restore" it again
If a Security Threat is restored, its status in "Security Report" should change to "Restored" or should be deleted from the list of it item "Removed"
Very confusing...you will never know which one has been restored and which one not !"
Sorry, I went on vacation.
I'm not sure if I mentioned it in our previous thread but this change request need some logic change and we couldn't do it at that stage of the development.
I tried to request for at least some command lines to show which are deleted and restored, unfortunately, the DB containing those information is not designed for such query.
For now, no change on that design but will follow up this change request for next release.