L
Neophyte

Neophyte

 • 

3 Messages

 • 

150 Points

Monday, November 23rd, 2020 7:09 AM

Closed

secure erase deletes files before confirmation

on two separate occasions today, right clicking a file/folder and clicking 'delete with secure erase' makes the file/folder disappear before the confirmation dialogue shows up, then clicking either yes or no has no effect.

it seems to be moving the file/folder to an unknown location, rather than deleting

Accepted Solution

Brand User

Legend

 • 

739 Messages

 • 

10.2K Points

4 years ago

Hi lostphone323,

 

Please try to apply this hotfix to check if it's the same after:

Secure Erase not showing task progress when erasing files

 

For more information can you please provide these details:

  1. Current Version of the Trend Micro program:
  2. Screenshots of the issue

How to take a screenshot to send to Trend Micro Technical Support

 

- TM_Reine

 

Neophyte

 • 

3 Messages

 • 

150 Points

that seems to have fixed it, however this is an intermittent issue that has been happening over the last couple of months. i'll respond to this thread if it happens again

thanks!

Brand User

Legend

 • 

739 Messages

 • 

10.2K Points

Hi lostphone323,

 

Thanks for updating us. Feel free to let us know if the issue persists after observing for a few days.

 

- TM_Reine

Neophyte

 • 

3 Messages

 • 

150 Points

it's happening again on a fresh installation of windows, intermittently

Brand User

Prodigy

 • 

231 Messages

 • 

4.4K Points

Hi lostphone323,

 

The possible reason why you are encountering this issue is because of an interrupted update of your Trend Micro software or there is a pending Windows update on your computer

 

To further investigate the issue can you please provide these details:

 

1.Current Version of Windows OS

2.Current version of the Trend Micro program:
3.Screenshots of the issue

 

How to take a screenshot to send to Trend Micro Technical Support

 

- TM_Kar

Hotshot

 • 

28 Messages

 • 

790 Points

happened again today. see attached.

where does it move these files to? can't help but feel others have used my pc while i'm not in attendance (remotely or locally) and have overridden the delete mechanism to either forward the documents to a remote file server or otherwise upload to a local user's device of whom shares the wifi network.

this is unique to the antivirus serial number, not to the windows installation.

windows 10 pro version 20H2 build 19042.685 Windows Feature Experience Pack 120.2212.551.0

Need Help?

Ask the Community

Latest Tech Insights

Loading...