C
Hustler

Hustler

 • 

37 Messages

 • 

1.1K Points

Sun, Jun 26, 2022 10:00 AM

Closed

Answered

Quarantine

Hello,

If something is moved to Quarantine, if I want to restore it , will be restored but still will be displayed as "quarantined".

After 6 months , you will not remember if the item in "Quarantine" was restored or not.

The item restored should be marked as "restored" rather then continue to mark is as "quarantined"

Brand User
tm_kim

Legend

 • 

682 Messages

 • 

10.1K Points

5 months ago

Hi, claudiubotezatu.

 

Once Quarantined files have been restored, they will no longer be shown under the Quarantined files list. We'll take note of the mark "Restored" and then check how this can be possible in our future updates.

 

You can check this link for more information: How to access quarantined files on Mac

 

- TM_Kim

Hustler

 • 

37 Messages

 • 

1.1K Points

5 months ago

"Once Quarantined files have been restored, they will no longer be shown under the Quarantined files list"

There is no "Quarantine" folder. The users can access only the logs and perform  the "restore" action from there.

I downloaded Eicar , was automatically removed by TM, will appear in "Logs" as "Removed".

If I select "Restore" it is still there , marked as "removed"

And will stay there for 1 year.....

Imagine the mess after 6 months when you have 20 items in the log, all marked as "removed' and you do not remember which one was restored and which one not.....

Legend

 • 

753 Messages

 • 

13.4K Points

Hi, claudiubotezatu

 

Trend Micro's malware clean-up depends on the type of Malware detected. Eicar is a known test file and doesn't hook itself in the registry or create a scheduled task so the action taken to the file is only to delete it to the system. Eicar was prompted for removal since it's a known malware test file. 

 

Files under quarantined files are already considered deleted as it was detected by Trend Micro as malicious. It's only giving you an option to restore in case the file detected is a false-positive detection.

 

If you would like to check if the file is already deleted, you can export the scan result and follow the file path indicated to manually check and delete the file.

 

- TM_Rochelle

Hustler

 • 

37 Messages

 • 

1.1K Points

Hello, maybe I was not clear to begin with.

If an user restores some item from 'logs' , how is the user able to figure out , after 6 months, what has been done with those files???

Let's say , which file was restored as long as there is no indication that the "restore' action was ever performed????

Even Windows Defender will mark a file in Quarantine "Deleted or Restored" so the user will know that , even though is still in the log, was handled somehow by the user action (Deleted or Restored)

I had this complaint few years ago, was a promise that "we will look into it" but nothing happened.

Need Help?

Ask the Community
Loading...